Bright and early Saturday morning, pheasant season in Kansas will begin. This season usually brings out 110,000 to 150,000 hunters from around the nation to the state of Kansas. Because so many people come to our state to hunt for the beautiful bird, a lot of money is spent by non-residents while they are here. Motels, restaurants, fuel stations and other stores usually make a good amount of money during this season.
It is believed that there will be a shortage of pheasants this season. A smaller amount of quail are also predicted. The drought is to blame for this in our area.
We should expect highs in the 60s and 70s this weekend. Not bad for those people who will be combing through fields searching for the birds. We have had some moisture so if you plan on hunting this weekend, I recommend that you bring some boots with you.
All people between the ages of 16 and 64 are required to have licenses in Kansas. Children under the age of 16 who live in Kansas do not need a hunting license. A new hunting license is available for residents of Kansas between the ages of 16 and 20. It will cost $42.50 one-time. This license expires on December 30th of the year that he/she turns 21. A multi-year hunting/fishing license is also available for peope from 16-20. This license will cost a one-time fee of $72.50. It, too, expires on December 30th of the year that the licensee turns 21.
Adult residents pay $20.50 for a hunting license. Residents Hunting/Fishing license combo costs $38.50.
Non-resident hunting licenses cost $72.50. Non-resident combo licenses cost $112.50 each. Non-residents of Kansas under the age of 16 will need to pay $37.50 for a hunting license.
Hunters are restricted by law to hunt on property where "NO HUNTING" signs are posted.
Please be careful out there.